Reaching for the Divine

 

While praying one day a woman asked,

“Who are you, God?”

He answered, “I am”.

But who is I am?

He replied, I am love,

I am peace, I am grace,

I am joy, I am strength,

I am safety, I am shelter,

I am power, I am the creator,

I am the comforter,

I am the beginning and the end,

I am the way, the truth, and the light.

With tears in her eyes,

she looked toward heaven and said,

“now I understand, but who am I?”

God tenderly wiped the tears

from her eyes and whispered,

“You are mine.”

 

~Author Unknown

So I’ve been browsing for different prayers, meditations, and guided spiritual practices for my own reflection. What keeps coming back to me is my own soul connected so tightly or closely to music. It is what at times has given me peace, allowed expression of joy and sorrow, and is a bridge for me to meander into different spaces that I might not otherwise be comfortable with or in. I believe it’s my soul’s language and allows me an openness and vulnerability that my own cognative mind won’t open on its own.   It’s funny, but as I flipped through the marked pages of my 4th Edition Maranatha! A music book of praise hymns and choruses, I noticed a distinct correlation to where I am and what kind of path I am on in my life. I should tell you these pages have been marked for years, simply because I find joy in them.   Today it’s different. It’s like I’ve been preparing for this time all these years, when I sit and play and find peace and comfort in these very simple songs.

As we seek your face,

may we know your heart,

feel your presence,

acceptance,

as we seek your face.

~Dave Bilbrough

Psalm 27:4

    Am I seeking?   Always.

I cast all my cares upon you,

I lay all of my burdens down at your feet.

And any time I don’t know what to do,

I will cast all my cares upon you.

~Kelly Willard

Psalm 55:22

    Have I intentionally left these burdens to God?  I’d like to say “yes”.  I can certainly say that I make it my intention every day and when I am tempted to fill my mind with fear and worry, I pray.  Prayer keeps me grounded. God’s presence when I tell him to help me let it go, grounds me.

You alone are my strength and shield.

To you alone may my spirit yield.

From As The Deer

~Martin Nystrom

Psalm 42:1

I have sung this phrase in many languages and different songs, and no matter what the piece, it always speaks to me. There is someone to be strong for me when I am weak; someone to shield me when I need comfort. This simple phrase, this song of many is always with me.

May God be with you and bless you as you walk your own journeys.

2 thoughts on “Reaching for the Divine

Leave a Reply

