Wow, sometimes the world just spins!

Dear Friends,

I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted a blog or been on line to check in with all of you.  As many of you know after struggling with infertility for quite some time, we were finally able to achieve pregnancy with IVF.  As happy as we were with the pregnancy, it was difficult for me to write about it, with so many I knew struggling with infertility still.  It still hurts that there are so many great moms and dads out there who are just waiting to fill their arms.

In that light, I thought I should share that my world changed in February.  I got very sick with HELLP syndrome rather quickly and they had to deliver the baby very early.  I was 27weeks 4days.  My baby boy came in to the world weighing 1lb 15oz. by emergent C-section.  I was so sick, I wasn’t able to see him until day 3.

Jonathan3

I cried when I finally saw him for the first time.  In fear, in relief, but mostly…in hope.  My beautiful church, CHN, held a Prayer Vigil 2 days after he was born…

IMG_4654

I wasn’t able to attend as sick as I was in the hospital, but my mom and sweet husband were able to, and brought back the bulletin so that I could read it.  Our beautiful Rev. Liz wrote a lovely prayer that still brings tears to my eyes:

“Gracious and all knowing God, We pray for your abundant blessings on this little newborn, Jonathan.  We look at this tiny baby and by faith we see:  Soft little ears that will one day hear and receive the message of God’s love and grace.  Precious little fingers that will one day reach out with acts of kindness to the world.  Cute little feet with tiny little toes that will one day bring blessings to the world.  Lord, we also see a tender tiny heart and tender tiny lungs.  We lift him to you, Lord God, and pray that you will sustain him in these very early days.  May this child always have an open heart to you and to your word, and may he grow up sure in the knowledge of your love and presence, all the days of his life.  All these things we pray through our Lord Jesus Christ.  Amen.”

Today, my little preemie is 31 weeks 1day (we go by gestational age when they are preemies).  He is now weighing in at 1050gm or 2.5lb.  Almost all of those tubes you see have been discontinued.  We are working on helping him grow.  I’d like to ask for prayers for continued progress.

Jonathan42

11 thoughts on “Wow, sometimes the world just spins!

  1. You baby boy is beautiful! I cannot begin to comprehend everything you have been through and will continue to go through as your little guy keeps growing. I am in awe of your courage to write this and to bring awareness to HELLP syndrome. I will keep you all in my thoughts and hoping he continues to grow big and strong!

  2. Oh honey, I have been thinking of you and wondering how you were doing. I am so sorry that you got so sick with HELLP syndrome, but so, so happy that he is here safely an is continuing to grow. Will be sending my thoughts and prayers that he continues to do well.

  3. Pingback: Why I March… | coalescedreverie

Leave a Reply

